I am a cooking snob and Stevenson, JFK, Thant recipe

I have this thing for historical recipes. Part of that might be the fact I am a history nut period but the cooking always interested me. I have seen many who whine that all Gran left them was the ingredient list. Yep. Because Gram could cook. One did not own a cookbook unless one was fairly well to do. You simply had to be able to cook. I dread thinking how many people today would starve to death if they had been born in the 1800s simply because they have no clue how to really cook. Taking a set of instructions and a list of ingredients is not cooking. Honestly it isn't. Cooking occurs when you look at those ingredients and simply start to work with them not run to your local recipe site, messageboard or published cookbook for what to do. That isn't a good cook. That is a good automat who is great at following orders. Do I have cookbooks? Oh yeah. Do I use them? Sometimes.

What do they do? Right now they are holding down one bookcase and one well.. floor and holding up one ceiling. When asked why I have all this my reply was simple, I enjoy reading them and while I don't use them [some of them are quite dusty] I do retain what I see when I read them. Something Jeff Smith did will end up in one of my recipes for something else. Sometimes I need to pull it off the pile and see what he did but you can be sure it is going into something else if suitable.

I abhor the people who say "It didn't taste right when I served it"
Hello.. What?! Didn't you taste it while you were cooking it? Then is the time to adjust your recipe NOT after it is on the plate so you can whine about it… well unless you really like to whine then feel free to do the same old thing. I don't have much patience with that behavior and absolutely NO sympathy.

Yes I am a cooking snob

Shrimp and Artichoke Casserole

This dish was served by Adlai Stevenson at a United Nations function attended by John F. Kennedy and Secretary General U. Thant in 1963! It yields 4 to 6 servings, takes about 15 minutes to prepare, and 30 minutes to bake..

6-1/2 Tbsp butter, divided
1 pound shrimp, cooked, shelled and deveined
4-1/2 Tbsp flour
1/4 pound mushrooms
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup dry sherry
3/4 cup whipping cream
1 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
Salt and pepper to taste
1/ cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
15 ounce jar artichoke hearts, drained*
Paprika

*You may substitute a 9 ounce package of frozen artichoke hearts for the canned artichoke hearts.

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Melt 4-1/2 tbsp butter in a saucepan. Stir in the flour and blend well. Gradually whisk in the milk and cream, until the mixture is thickened and smooth. Season with salt and pepper.

3. Arrange artichoke hearts in buttered 12"x8"x2" baking dish. Scatter shrimp over the artichoke hearts.

4. Saute the mushrooms in 2 tbsp butter. for 6 minutes. Spoon the mushrooms over the shrimp in the baking pan.

5. Add the sherry and Worcestershire Sauce to the cream sauce. Pour the cream sauce over the shrimp. Sprinkle with the Parmesan cheese and paprika.

6. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
