Jessie’s Heirloom Key Lime Pie

Jessie's Story from a Hospice Nurse:
Several years ago I treated a young man from Key West, Florida who was dying of AIDS. A couple of weeks before he died, he gave me his 75 year old family recipe for Key Lime Pie. He explained that most Key Lime Pie recipes use condensed milk. Even restaurants in Key West serve Key Lime Pie made with condensed milk. Jessie was disdainful of this version. His family recipe, passed from generation to generation, does not used condensed milk. Jessie claimed it is the only authentic Key Lime Pie recipe. So in memory of Jessie, I offer it to you. Please keep story with Jessie's recipe. Thanks. Recent note: IF you use it and pass it on please keep Jessie's story with it for him and all those who have died since.

5 eggs, separated
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup key lime juice
1 tablespoon butter
1/4 cup sugar, for meringue
1 baked pie shell, 9 inches

This is the most important step in the whole operation: Separate eggs into three bowls
5 yolks in one bowl,
2 egg whites in another,
3 egg whites in the third.

Cream egg yolks, adding 3/4 cup sugar and lime juice until mixed thoroughly.

Cook over low heat until thick, adding the butter.
Remove from heat.
Cool slightly.

Meanwhile beat two egg whites until stiff, then fold into cooled lime mixture.
Fill baked 9 inch pie shell.

Beat other whites until stiff then beat in 1/4 cup sugar.
Pile meringue on top of lime filling and bake at 325 degrees for 15 minutes.

Note: This recipe has a different CC than the site.  Please make sure you understand the requirements of this.  Some copies of this recipe did not include the required inclusion of Jessies story to post this recipe.  So another CC and individual Numbly Number were applied for.
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.

–>numly esn 56604-060624-483177-27

© 2006 Creative Commons License above.

2 Comments

  1. azlinda
    Posted June 25, 2006 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    I was delighted to “find” you again. Now I know what you’ve been doing with your extra time…blogging! I truly envy you your writing skills. I enjoyed reading your entire blog this morning.

    I will add the CC information for Jessie’s Key Lime Pie at the RGM website.

  2. Posted June 29, 2006 at 9:12 pm | Permalink

    Glad to see you here. Thanks for the compliment. [grin]

    I’ll stick a link to RGM on the side for you. I still visit a lot I just don’t do the boards the way I did. My moderating the vegetarian forum keeps me busy as quiet as it is.

    I sent you an email.


Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
