The Ultimate Revenge on a Father In Law

When I was growing up we had the advent of the boxed macaroni and cheese. At age 8 this was a great novelty to me. I didn't have it at home when we lived with my Grandparents.

Granny made everything from scratch and canned her own produce. And the woman could cook. Nothing she made turned out badly. She had in her youth worked as a cook in a boarding house while waiting for her fiancé to return from WWI. He never did. She married my Grandfather and brought those heavenly cooking skills with her. So you see there is a reason why I am a food snob.
Maureen O'hara in a good 'my mother' pose
My mother, on the other hand while a beautiful woman who could have been Maureen O’Hara’s twin sister [pictured left], could not boil water without burning it. I often say I learned to cook in self defense. Granny didn't make it that I could remember and my mother surely could not.

When I married the first time, it was my father in laws specialty next to perogies and drinking. His macaroni and cheese was heavenly to someone raised on box which I made. You don't think my mother did, do you? By the time I was 9, I was cooking for myself. Self preservation, love.

My father in laws was rich made with a strong rich cheese and glowed golden tasting smooth, rich and cheesy on the tongue and throat. Perfection. I never seemed to equal that even if the recipe book he gave me was suppose to hold the real recipe. We never liked each other. I doubt it did.

I searched long and hard for a Macaroni and Cheese recipe that rivaled his. It had to be baked in the oven. Stove top would not do. I searched. Finally I ran across the Ultimate macaroni and cheese from the Horseradish Grill. Why not try it? I had every other one and this sounded as if it could compare.

I landed the Ultimate. Father in law eat your heart out. His has been replaced by a rich golden concoction with a surprising spice and heat that lends itself to the dish well. It is the recipe in demand when I take something. "Aren't you bringing the Macaroni?" It is cleaned out quickly and seconds are always in demand. Revenge on Father in laws isn't sweet but is ultimate.

Ultimate Macaroni and Cheese
Recipe By : Horseradish Grill, Atlanta
Serving Size : 10

1 3/4 cups small elbow macaroni
1 1/4 cups extra-sharp cheddar cheese (5 oz) — cubed [note I have used the same amount of Mexican blend cheese]
2 2/3 tablespoons flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 teaspoons dry mustard
1/4 teaspoon ground pepper
1/8 teaspoon cayenne
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 1/3 cups half and half
1 1/3 cups whipping cream
2/3 cup sour cream
2 large eggs
3/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
1 1/4 cups packed extra-sharp cheese (5 oz) — grated [note I have also used American white with the Mexican blend]

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly butter 9x13x2-inch glass baking dish. Cook macaroni in large saucepan of boiling salted water until just tender but still firm to bite. Drain pasta. Transfer to prepared dish. Mix in cubed cheese.

Whisk flour, salt, mustard, black pepper, cayenne pepper and nutmeg in medium bowl until no lumps remain. Gradually whisk in half and half, then whipping cream and sour cream. Add eggs and Worcestershire sauce; whisk to blend. Pour over macaroni mixture; stir to blend. Sprinkle grated cheese over.

Bake macaroni and cheese until just set around edges but sauce is stil liquid in center, about 25 mins. Remove from oven; let stand 10 mins to thicken slightly (sauce will be creamy).

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
