BBQ Lentils or Gee a newspaper recipe that didn’t blow up

My scores are not good with newspaper recipes. They always seem to blow up for me. Either they forgot something or they just don't work as they said they did. You are left wondering about ingredients.

1 cup of this then bake for 25 minutes. 45 minutes later with a check on oven temperature you are wondering who is crazy or a bad cook. I had tried one a few years ago for African something or other using squash. It required raw squash. I peeled. Not one of my favorite jobs mind you. Too much work with so little benefit when I could simply pop it in the oven and have an easy job of it.

Fine I peeled. The Other Half left the house. I don't think the language was that bad. The blue haze would have been mistaken for smoke. It was winter you know.

Then I started to assemble this easy recipe. The ingredients were not exotic just plentiful. Oh did I tell you this was listed as an easy simple recipe? I didn't? It was. The instructions called for everything except taking my clothes off and dancing around the stove naked. Done in 25 minutes.

1 hour and 45 minutes later I made something else. Two hours later I came to the conclusion the recipe was dead and still not done by the way. Three hours later and I finally said enough. And the sad part? It didn't even taste good enough to regret.

We will not go into the fair winners that backfired. I'll spare you.

I still browse but rarely pull a recipe. This one just caught my interest and I decided to save it. I made some modifications for our taste and came out with a winner. Darn I might just start believing in Newspaper recipes again.. But then even Dick can hit a moving target once in a while.

BBQ Lentils from the Harrisburg Patriot Food section.. Modified a bit

They got it from the Biggest Loser Cookbook by Rodale

1 tablespoon Olive Oil [optional]
1 cup chopped onions
1 tablespoon minced garlic
2 teaspoons chili powder
2 tsp [to taste] Red Jalapeno Jelly
2 teaspoon Coleman's mustard powder
1 cup vegetable broth
1 cup V-8
3/4 cup tomato sauce [three fourths cup not 34 cups.. oh tell me you didn't.. Please]
3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons honey
1 1/2 cups dried lentils, rinsed [I recommend Red. They called for Brown. I have tried French. Use the red]
salt, to taste
fresh ground pepper, to taste

Heat oil in 2 qt pan on med heat or if using on oil simply add onion and a bit of water or broth and cook 3 minutes or until softened. Add garlic, chili powder and mustard powder; cook 1 minute or until fragrant. Add more water if needed. Do not brown the garlic.

Add broth and juice, sauce, Jelly, vinegar, mustard, honey, and lentils; stir well and bring to boil. Reduce heat to low; cover and simmer 30 minutes until lentils are tender but intact.

If needed add 1/4 cup water and simmer five more minutes. Season to taste.

serves 6

Technorati tag: , , , , , ,

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
