I never liked sweet corn but there is always the first time

drawing of corn earsI never liked it. Sweet corn was ok. The favor was alright but nothing to write home about. My grandfather always had about an acre. Corn on the cob. Canned corn. Frozen corn. But nothing to write home about. The very best part of the corn was the fact I could hide in the field.

As I grew older and my mother moved away from the farm when my Grandmother died, it became a very rare thing. Neither of us was enamored with the stuff. Mom from memories of having to can it and me from the taste. It was too much work to dig out the pot of water and prepare it. When the local restaurants served it, I ordered the mashed potatoes and baby peas instead, thank you.

I never grew out of that. I had it prepared with the best seafood meals in Norfolk or Virginia Beach or Charleston South Carolina. No dice. I had it in Texas, San Diego, Seattle. No, thank you, may I have some peas please? Sweet corn just didn't make it.

While I had a sweet tooth, the taste always left something lacking. Until this year.

The stove, as I have said, blew up. Actually it fizzled with more fireworks than the fourth of July. Since it is summer, it is hot and it is needed that we replace the Jeep engine first, I decided to try living without a stove. How hard can it be and who ever heard of sweating over a hot toaster oven? So I decided to use the microwave more. In looking through an old Betty Crocker Microwave Cookbook, [sometime you are bored I shall tell you about my 7 foot plus stack of cookbooks] I found a recipe for sweet corn. It was cheap. 10 ears for $2.00. So I bought 10 ears.

The recipe is divinely simple. One [or more] roasting ears. One microwave. No prep. No fuss. Simply toss the ear into the microwave on a rotating base. Cook for 5 minutes on high power. Open and remover carefully with hot pads because it will be steaming hot. Let cool until you can handle then strip. The husk and silk pull off easily. Cut the base off and serve up with your favorite condiments. You won't even need ketchup. Note to those with no turn table: If you don't have a turntable you must rotate the corn yourself after two minutes by the way.microwaved corn ear

I read many variations. One uses the turntable but also rotates after the two minutes. Why? I'm lazy. It works without rotating as long as the turntable does it for you. One has you soaking the ears before you cut off the silk. Why? If you have very poor ears that aren't too fresh then yes, you need to soak them but why would you buy them or use un-fresh picked garden ears for corn on the cob? Why cut off the silk when it comes off in one big pull? It doesn't effect the flavor. It is simply a make more work project. Why when I can spend my time working on a perfect hamburger or steak or Maryland crabcake?

The corn tastes sweet and bursting with flavor. It has a wonderful texture. It takes 5 minutes to make. It cleans up with a simple yank. What more could I ask for. We have bought sweet corn every shopping trip since I found this recipe. Oh the other version? Done the old fashioned way or grilled or other methods? You can keep them. They just don't have the flavor of the microwave and I can make an ear for lunch.

It took me 45 years to find the perfect sweet corn.

Technorati : , , , , , , , ,

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
