Cinnamon Extract

Cinnamon extract.. $5.62 a bottle. I almost had a stroke. Now don’t get me wrong. I will pay a good price for good quality cooking items but when I looked at this I wondered why when I can simply make some. Fresher.

You can use the extract in place of vanilla, for candy making, for frostings, for specialty items and for making hard candies. It gives an extra boost to cinnamon flavored items. It is like other condiments and extracts very nice to have about the kitchen. So why not simply make it. It doesn’t take much.

3 to 4 cinnamon sticks and a 1/2 cup of vodka are all you need.

simply combine, cork and place in a dark place for a few months.

The recipe in recipe form is at zaar of course located here:

Cinnamon Extract

So the next time cinnamon sticks are on sale, buy em up. make em up and and enjoy. And realize you are saving 5.62 for two whole ounces. Decant it into a lovely bottle safe for food items and slap on an artistic ribbon and by George you have a neat little homemade gift.

tag: , , , ,

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
