Summer Ham Fruit Platter with dressing for a sticky day

I hate heat.. Well actually, I don’t hate heat, I hate humidity. I abhor humidity. Ever since I was in the Navy, I have done my best to avoid the stuff. Dry heat thank you. In 110 degree weather in San Diego, I would be energized and bouncing. Hot? It’s not hot. In a 75 degree day in Charleston South Carolina I would be laying on my bunk panting and praying this rotten stuff would pass. I hate it.

I hate the feeling that every cell you own is stuck to the cell next to it. I hate the sticky feel. I hate that you produce sweat that hangs around and makes friends. No matter what you do, you can’t get cool. I am watching my newly bought and just opened bag of Licorice melting before my eyes. I hate cooking on these days. Any seems to simply add to the moisture around me.

Today it is cool and raining and the humidity is terrible. I looked at the chocolate cake recipe I submitted for you and thought “who in their right mind without an air conditioner strapped to theirPeach tree back or a dehumidifier attached to their knees would try this” I started to sweat looking at it.

So for a miserable summer day:

Have an easy nice Ham Fruit platter. It’s just what the doctor ordered. The original was from one of the Ham companies for their product. I suggest using any fruit in season.

Lettuce
29 Ounces Peach Halves, If using canned drained
14 1/2 Ounces Pineapple, Sliced, If using canned drained
1 Pound Ham, thinly sliced
Cream Cheese
Chopped Walnuts
Blueberries
Whole Strawberries

Dressing:
3/4 Cup Sour Cream
1 Tablespoon Horseradish Mustard
2 Tablespoons Sugar
1 Teaspoon Lemon Juice

Dressing: combine and chill.

Salad: Line platter with lettuce. Arrange the peaches, pears, pineapple slices, and ham on it. Roll cream cheese into balls. Roll in the walnuts. Arrange the walnut cream cheese balls with the pineapple slices. Fill the peach halves with the blue berries. Garnish the pear with a strawberry

Either drizzle on the dressing before serving or serve on the side.

tag: , , , , , , ,

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
