A world tour, frozen halibut hostage and Cajun Recipes

There is a group of people running around my one forum low fatting recipes all over the place.

Oh don’t get me wrong, I love it even if it turns my nice quiet little haven of the net into a NASCAR race between the greats. Do you think it might be the $1000.00 prize for their favorite charity that did it? Or perhaps it is the fact that they can cook all sorts of recipes, find all sorts of recipes and get to experiment with all sorts of recipes that was the draw? I think both.zaar badge

Either way they are leaving tracks all over the forum and it way too hot to cook even without all that cooking but let me tell you Mary that food sure looks good.

Zaar is in the home stretch of the Zaar world tour II. In it you are challenged to find recipes and to cook recipes from all over the world. They go from area to area such as Asia, Africa, Canada, England, the Pacific Islands and cook. And eat. We hope they eat. And have fun.

When they put me up against a wall and held a frozen halibut to my head I had to agree. I am hosting Asian with a special challenge. After all I have been threatened by a frozen halibut. I should learn to be more aware. They caught me for my forum with a butter cake and a large net. Well, one cannot run and eat butter cake at the same time. My best advice to you if a butter cake is just lying along the path, let it there.

Make a Low fat, Asian Vegetarian recipe for your points. They have all done very well considering I gave them only 15% fat to work with and bonus points if they could tell me how to go lower. Each challenger has a different challenge. Since I deal in low fat and I host of the vegetarian forum on zaar it seemed a natural for me to low fat a vegetarian meal. I cook Asian often and it has always been a favorite.

If I had my druthers, it would have been Creole and Cajun but that fairly cries out for fat and I didn’t want to do that to those who hadn’t low fatted full fat recipes before. It is an art to doing that. I get the feeling after watching these cooks work perhaps I was totally wrong about that. They can cook and they can low fat with the best of them. Perhaps I should have been totally evil and made it 3% fat per recipes. hum. nah.

That is fine. They had a party with it in the French, Creole and Cajun forum. What? Zaar. It has lots of forums with all different types of cooking. There is a nice large section of regional as well as the type I host in Vegetarian.

It’s the heat you know. As soon as it gets this hot I think I am back stationed down south and it is Charleston, South Carolina all over again. The spicy food of the Low Country, the Creole/Cajun mix, Tex Mex are all designed to beat the heat. It cools. Besides that it is just plain addicting. But as I said in an earlier post, I am my father’s child.

Today it is two favorites designed to make a nice cool lunch. The Deviled eggs are stuffed with Devil Ham and a nice cool tangy salad to keep it company. For the hot sauce I recommend again my favorite, Franks.

Make a trip to the local farm market and then party.

Cajun corn salad and dressing

17.5 ounces whole kernel corn, well drained or
3 cups corn fresh off the cob [use the microwave]
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 red bell pepper diced
1 cup okra , fresh cooked or
1 cup hot pickled okra or
1 cup prepared zucchini [simply slice very thin choosing the freshest baby]
6 green onions
1/2 cup parsley, minced, preferable flat leaf
1 cup cherry or grape tomatoes halved

Dressing:
1 tsp sugar
1/4 cup herb flavored white wine vinegar
1 tsp creole mustard or other stone ground mustard
1 tbsp dried basil leaves or 3 tbsp fresh minced basil
2 tbsp mayo
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
1/2 tsp Tabasco or another hot sauce
salt to taste
1/2 cup olive oil
Toss all the salad ingredients together in serving bowl; set aside.

Prepare dressing. In a 2 qt bowl whisk all the ingredients except the olive oil until combined. Add the oil in a slow steady stream whisking slightly until thickened.

Pour the dressing over salad and use a fork to coat. Refrigerate and let set overnight or up to 3 days.

makes 6 to 8 servings

Cajun Deviled eggs
from Meaux Louisiana

24 hard boiled eggs
4.5 ounces of Deviled ham
2.5 tbsp sweet pickle relish
2 tbsp cider vinegar [I recommend Braggs]
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp prepared yellow mustard
1/2 tsp Tabasco sauce
1/2 tsp fresh ground pepper
Paprika
Pimento stuffed olives, sliced

slice the hard boiled eggs in half lenght wise. Place the yolks in a 2 qt bowl. Place whites on serving platter. Set aside.

Ad all remaining ingredients except the paprika and olives to yolks. Using fork mash yolks until blended. Use a spoon fill white with a portion of the filling rounding off the top.

For an elegant presentation fill a pastry bag with the yolk mix and using a 12 inch star tip pipe it in.

Sprinkle filled eggs with paprika and place an olive slice in the center of each.

Makes 48 halves

tag: , , , , , , ,

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
