The squirrel ate the shoo fly pie

Actually the flying squirrel ate the whole thing. Worst shock of my life. I come downstairs in the morning expecting my Shoo-fly pie to be there and there was no pie but a very full little flying squirrel. I had one piece. He had several.

My first reaction was what a strange looking rat. Then he gracefully sailed from one side of my living room to the other. Of course a chase ensued. Perhaps I should not have said “I’m going to eat your Rodent butt.” I think he took it seriously.

I finally trapped him in my office on the second floor. The cure? I opened the window and removed the screen. It was a very warm November day and he finally escaped through the open window.

The pie was not what many will think of as shoo fly pie. They are use to the overly icky ahem.. I mean sweet gooey based commercial version. Home-made is best for shoo-fly. Now there the waters part.

The black bottom or wet bottom is what most are familiar with. The molasses settles to the bottom making a goo at the base. Very nice but not my favorite.

My favorite is the dry one. It is a cake like pie. the filling could almost be used crustless for a sort of coffee cake if it were a bit firmer. It is not overly sweet. If you are hunting sweet, I suggest the black bottoms.

The cake the squirrel stole was a cake shoo-fly not a black bottom. I have black bottom recipes but I don’t use them. Remember I like savory not sweet. I am the opposite of my diabetic relations of which all my aunts, my mother, my grandmother and my half brother can claim membership. I love savory. I love rich. I love fat. Sweet? No thank you. A little goes a long way. Hey what can I say. I drink ice tea unsweetened.

This can be made wetter:

A pie from Jean Shepard’s Simple Family recipes.

1 1/2 cups sifted flour
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup margarine
1/2 tsp soda
1/3 cup hot water
1/3 cup dark corn syrup
Cinnamon
1 unbaked 9 inch shell

Sift flour and sugar together with salt. Cut in butter until crumbly. Spread 1 cup of mix over bottom of pastry shell. Stir soda into hot water and mix into syrup. Spoon this over the crumbs. DO NOT POUR IN ONE SPOT.

Spread remaining crumb mix evenly over the top.

Sprinkle on the cinnamon. Bake at 400F for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 and continue to bake 30 minutes or longer Serve warm

For a moister pie, pour all the liquid into shell then top with crumb mixture. Spread evenly
tag: , , , , ,

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
