The tale of a recipe..

Added note ah those blackberries that vanished before we got to the house? They are back. Recipe corrected. It was a bad night guys. I don’t know how I missed that. I don’t know how the other half missed that. Can I blame the cat?

We ended up having to leave the house for a bit tonight. With everything going on I decided to go to the local ice cream diner type place down the road. Now you have to understand that local means 15 miles. Anything more local and you are fighting the possum in the garden for the vegetables.

So we had a hot date. I had the banana spilt. The other half had the teaberry ice cream cone. And we played with our cell phones. Do you know when you are sitting right next to each other the cell phone comes in loud and clear?

It also proves the Other Half never listens to me. I asked it the pizza place 7 miles away was closed. They serve ice cream. “Yep”

So instead I drive 15 miles down the road. We are now home and I am sitting at my computer. From the wing back chair I hear “OH we could have gone to the Pizza Place.”

“I asked.”

‘No you didn’t”

“You don’t listen”

“I was thinking about the store. The store is closed on Thursdays. The Restaurant is closed on Tuesday.”

Blond Twit.

So after the long journey, I came home and decided to try and figure out what to blog about. The heat, humidity and thunderstorms seemed to cry out for That banana spilt. That started a search for banana split recipes to use in this blog. Nada. Nothing in the cookbooks. Nothing on the net. We did run into Banana Split Cake from Wilton.

Oodles of Banana Split Pie.
There is one Banana Split recipe on Cooks.com for the split, your own carmel sauce and your own fudge sauce.

Nice lovely recipes. The one at Cooks.com comes close but not exactly what I wanted. It would qualify. Perhaps it is the heat. I am stumped.

Finally what did appeal to me was something that had nothing to do with a banana split at all. In fact it had a lot more to do with Diner. It is best with fresh good vanilla ice cream but that is the only relation to banana splits I know of. Perhaps it is the blackberries. I discovered we have a real blackberry bush attempting to grow in the backyard. I am so happy about that.

For an off day and after I got your mouth totally set for Banana Split, try the

Seattle Diner Blackberry Slump from the Retro Diner

[make sure you use Blackberries and not black raspberries]

1 quart blackberries, washed and stemmed
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup milk
1/8 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons sugar
4 tablespoons melted butter

Preheat oven to 375. In greased baking dish pour in berries and sprinkle with 1 1/2 cups sugar. Use less if the berries are very sweet.
In a separate bowl combine the other ingredients. Pour flour mix over berries. Bake 45 minutes or until the crust is light brown and bubbly.
Serve with fresh whipped cream and/or vanilla ice cream. And don’t forget to tip the waitress.

Serves four to six.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
